PROVISION

So as we got in my pick up at o’dark thirty in the morning, I verbally spoke a prayer over my daughter and I. I asked God to provide for us and keep us safe as we went into the Great Northwest looking for big game animals to slay. Yes it was the first day of hunting season.

Now I know that some of you are not interested in hunting. Some may even find the thought of hunting appalling. But this isn’t a hunting story; it’s a provision story.  So hang in there with me.

The day went very like many hunting trips, a lot of walking and sitting and looking and thinking, and sitting and walking and nothing. Yeah, that’s about how it went.

On one particular hour of the day, my daughter Erin and I went driving down a very uncomfortable washboard road. I mean it was bad. So we decided instead of driving down this monster of a road, we would pull over and walk it. So we did.

We weren’t waling very long before my daughter said, “What in the world?” Looking down I saw what she was so puzzled about; down at our feet were dozens of little wood screws just lying open on the road. Now we were about 20 miles from civilization and clearly out of cell service, and yet here was a very visible sign of humankind displayed in the middle of nature.

As we walked we would stop and pick up wood screws, thinking and even saying, “What in the world is going on?”

And so we walked, and picked up screws. For over a quarter of a mile.Image

It was a strange hunting experience. And I started to wonder why we were doing this, instead of paying attention to our original task.

Then all of a sudden the Lord reminded me of my prayer. “Michael, (only mom, wife and God call me this) you asked for provision, remember? Do you think it was just coincidence that you pulled over 10 feet in front of a quarter mile stretch of road with sharp wood screws strewn along the way?  I just provided you with a way out of a flat tire, 20 miles from the nearest town and no cell service. You’re welcome.”

We don’t know if this was a random act, where wood screws fell out of the back of some guys pick-up truck bed, or an intentional act of pure meanness on the part of someone not wanting us hunting in that area. But one thing we do know. God hears the prayers of His children.

“And my God will meet all your needs according to the riches of his glory in Christ Jesus.” –Philippians 4:19

I am thankful that even before I knew what to pray, my God knew I and my daughters needs,  and was faithful to provide for us.

We don’t really know how BIG God is, but we just saw a glimpse.

Leave a Reply

