Two Great Intercessors?

So pretty much my entire “Christian” life, I have heard and reheard this fabulous news. Are you ready for it? Well here you go… 

Jesus Christ is our Great Intercessor!

Great news isn’t it? Well it is unless your 12 and you don’t know what an “intercessor” is. Let’s just say it ain’t “Good News” unless you get it. Can I get an Amen? Well needless to say as I’ve grown in my faith I’ve come to believe and rely on this statement. In my life over the years I have come to “bet the farm” on this simple yet powerful statement.

 

Jesus Christ is our Great Intercessor.  Even Paul tells us so in his letter to the Romans…

“Christ Jesus who died—more than that, who was raised to life—is at the right hand of God and is also interceding for us.” –Romans  8:34b

 

So what has this simple yet amazing discovery come to mean to me exactly? Simple. Jesus hears me when I pray, and He hand delivers my request to God the heavenly Father. Not only does Jesus hear my prayer, and deliver to God my request IN PERSON; He also intercedes (as in intercessor wink wink) for me. To intercede means He goes to bat for me. He sticks up for me. He contends for me. To GOD.

That’s pretty awesome. I love having Jesus in my corner.

The other day I was doing some light reading in Romans again. Just minding my own business, when something JUMPED off the page. I mean, I have never read THAT before. Never. It blew my mind. I’m just going to let you read it…

Romans 8: 26-27

“In the same way, the Spirit helps us in our weakness. We do not know what we ought to pray for, but the Spirit himself intercedes for us through wordless groans. And he who searches our hearts knows the mind of the Spirit, because the Spirit intercedes for God’s people in accordance with the will of God.”

Say what? I KNOW. Not only do we have Jesus Christ interceding for us… We also have the Holy Spirit! Notice what it says in verse 26, “We do not know what we ought to pray for, but the Spirit himself intercedes…” Do you know what this means? All those times when you and I were so low, so depressed, so angry we didn’t know what to pray, God the Holy Spirit had been interceding to God FOR us. In the most dark moments of our history the Spirit took over and put our requests down for us!

Absolutely amazing.

We have Two Great Intercessors. Even when we didn’t know it. Even when we didn’t know what intercessory even meant. They were there. In our corner.

 

There are no words.

Leave a Reply

